Caseworkers assigned by child protection agencies undergo background checks to detect former abuse cases. While the majority genuinely desire to help families and remove minors from harmful situations, others take advantage of their position to access and abuse vulnerable children.
That's the story of one NJ man facing up to three decades in prison and a $250,000 fine for knowingly coercing a child to “engage in sexually explicit conduct.” Police officers arrested 28-year-old Kayan Frazier, then-employed by the New Jersey child protection agency, for possessing thousands of pictures depicting child sexual abuse.
After receiving a search warrant for Frazier's apartment in April 2019, police found him in the company of an underage boy. An investigation into his employment history shows that Frazier was a disgraced former substitute teacher fired for texting a 9-year old boy and letting another sleep in his bed.
Frazier's case is an example of what can go wrong when those in positions of authority that protect victims end up engaging in the victimization themselves. He plead guilty to sexual exploitation of a child, distribution of child pornography, and possession of child pornography.
Problematic Social Workers
Predators take advantage of situations when parents are not paying attention. In cases where parents are in the middle of a custody battle, it can be easy to miss signs that the social worker is abusing a child.
If you suspect something amiss in your child's relationship with a social worker, don't ignore the warning signs. You must report your suspicions, even without proof, and contact an attorney to protect your child.
If you were the victim of abuse as a child and the perpetrator was a social worker, you can file a case against them. A New Jersey legislation passed in 2019 extends the reporting window for child sex abuse victims until they reach 55.
Social workers must follow the code of ethics outlined by the National Association of Social Workers and answer to the State Board of Social Work Examiners.
The code prohibits sexual contact between social workers and clients because the relationship ultimately harms the client. Sexual assault of a child goes against these standards and is a form of child endangerment.
Social workers must maintain boundaries and a professional distance from their clients at any age. The limits must be “clear, appropriate, and culturally sensitive.” The State Board of Social Work Examiners expressly prohibits sexual contact or solicitation between the workers and their clients.
Some penalties for social workers who engage in child sexual abuse include imprisonment, fines, permanent parole, and registration as sex offenders under Megan's Law.
Contact the Lento Law Firm
If you suspect boundary-crossing or an inappropriate relationship between your child and their social worker, call attorney Joseph D. Lento.
Even if you don't have proof, attorney Lento and the Lento Law Firm will conduct an investigation and takes the appropriate steps to protect your child from harm. Even those assigned to protect others can be perpetrators of abuse, and a caseworker is no exception.
Call the Lento Law Firm today for a confidential discussion at 888-535-3686.